Glenfarclas 105 Review

Cask-strength Glenfarclas – Yes please!

It’s been hovering around 90 degrees (F) the past few days in this heat-waived summer week, but now it’s a cool and relaxing 68 degrees outside, so I can comfortably get to work on this powerhouse of a Speysider. Although, I guess that is what air conditioners are for…

Glenfarclas 105

In 1968, Glenfarclas released the industry’s very first commercially available cask-strength single malt, which was later titled “105”. I believe the title “105” came about in the 1970s as representation of its proof (British proofing system at the time). It was also labeled with an 8 year old age statement, but that has since been removed – More than likely due to supply & demand. Ah, a way of the times, is it not?

Today, you can find a couple other 105’s on select shelves – The ‘105 20 Year Old’ that was limited to only 4,000 bottles, and the ‘105 40 Year Old’, which was released in 2008 as the 40th anniversary to the cask-strength appearance. The one I am reviewing today is of course the no age statement (NAS) bottling.

Another Speyside distillery that I thoroughly enjoy is Aberlour. If you’ve read my review on A’Bunadh, you know it’s another NAS cask-strength sherried Speysider that I never mind spending some time with, although I think a couple of their recent batches have been bottled a little “younger” than usual. I am hoping that Glenfarclas 105 will turn out to be just as joyous.

Of Note: You’ll notice on the image above that the bottle states “Highland Single Malt Scotch Whisky”. I’m noting this here because someone recently asked me about this slightly confusing phenomenon. I covered this in a guest post for a friend, but technically Speyside is part of the Highland region. Plenty of Speyside distilleries will use the title “Highland Malt”, which is sometimes why I’ll only speak of the Highlands when referring to the regions of Scotch whisky. All Speyside distilleries are Highland distilleries, but not all Highland distilleries are Speyside distilleries. I Hope that helps anyone who may be curious.

Price:  Approx $85/750ml
ABV:  60% – Cask Strength

Color:  Light Amber / Burnt Orange
Nose:  Have to remember to be a little careful with bottles like this. Sherry aromas and spices are the first to notice – cinnamon and clove mostly, toffee and caramel candies, raisins, almonds, baked fruits, some light floral and sweet grain notes as well as some light herbal notes – Sweetened red rooibos tea comes to mind.
Palate:  On approach there’s toffee sweetness with spiced, dried fruits and then it moves along into more of a sweet nuttiness (almonds) around mid-palate with more developing dried and baked fruits – raisins, pears, apricots and dates. This is coupled with honeyed cereal and drying oak.
Finish:  Fairly long with oak, spices and a lingering dry sweetness.

This is another one of those whiskies where age simply doesn’t matter. It’s rich, coating, complex and fairly well balanced. Definitely a bottle of Glenfarclas I don’t mind spending time with – A fantastic dram that I recommend trying out.

Grade B+

14 thoughts on “Glenfarclas 105 Review

  1. Check the back label on the 105 bottle. It’s possible Glenfarclas bottles slightly different expressions for different markets but the bottle I have says it is 10 years old.

  2. Hey Port. Thank you for the comment. Very interesting… There is no age statement on the back of mine, but if that’s the case there must be other variants of the ‘105’ out there (other than the older 8-year-old, 20-year-old and 40-year-old of course). I’ll definitely have to look into this more. What market is yours bottled for?

    • FYI, I’m in Ontario, Canada. We get both 700ml (European size) and 750ml (American standard) bottle sizes. So, the Glenfarclas 105 available in Canada may have a different label than the one available in the USA. Hope that helps.

  3. Hey Paul. Regarding different market bottlings found in Canada, is this the case for most expressions/distilleries? There are so many out there that differ not only in the obvious size, but also in ABV. Highland Park comes to mind. Their 750ml bottles are processed at 43%, where the 700ml bottles are processed at 40%. Do you typically see both versions or is it only one or the other?

    • We typically get only one size. If the particular expression is available in the USA (750ml) that’s the one that is most likely stocked in Canada. Unlike the USA, however, we do often get some items that the distillery (or independent bottlers) only make available in 700ml sizes.

  4. Hey, interesting review. I have been looking to purchase a Glanfarclas bottle since I’ve heard so much about these but mostly because it’s currently the only good single malt available in the stores here in Delhi, India. Due to some labeling issue most of the imported liquor is being held at the customs… silly good for nothing governments.. anyway so which do you recommend, the 12 yo Glenfarclas or the 105. These are the only two expressions available here at the moment. I have read other reviews where people have said the 105 is a little rough, slightly harsh than the 12 yo, maybe they’re using more younger whisky in their 105 than they should?

    Thanks for your inputs on this.
    K

    • Hi, thanks for the comment. The 105 is definitely a younger whisky but I never got any rough notes or thought it was too brash. That being said, it is much more harsh it terms of its approach due to being bottled at cask strength – just a bigger punch. The 12-year-old, in my opinion, is a rather simple whisky – very approachable and straight forward, so it’s really what fits your palate more. If you like cask strength whiskies, I’d say go with the 105. It costs more but you’re getting more bang for your buck since it’s bottled at cask strength. The higher ABV also lends more complexity. Hope this helps. Cheers!

      • Thanks for your response, it was indeed helpful. I have never tried a cask strength whisky, so I can only imagine what a whisky with that much ABV might taste like. I think I will try both at a bar and then make my choice.
        Thank again! Cheers!

      • If you can try it at a bar, that’s definitely the way to go. Even if you don’t like cask strength whiskies, though, you can always water them down to an abv you enjoy, stretching out the bottle for more to enjoy. Another part of the extra bang for the buck.
        No problem, keep me posted. Cheers!

      • I like the idea of stretching out the bottle for more, this didnt occur to me earlier. And I don’t like watering down anything that’s less than 46 ABV, so being able to do this tips in favor of the 105 Glenfarclas. Will let you know which one I get and how I like it, Cheers!

  5. A beast, a little numbing -10yo on bottle. But tasty. Put a little water in it now taste difference between neat and diluted … and to lessen the numbing :-)

    • Hi, and thanks for the comment. Glad you enjoyed the 105. I feel that being able to add water to a whisky and bring it down to the “proof of your liking” is one of the great benefits of sipping cask strength whisky. Picking up the differences is also part of the fun. Cheers!

  6. Pingback: Glenfarclas 105 Cask Strength NAS 60% | Whisky Lady

Leave a comment